Skip to content
December 8, 2010 / Justin Hamlin

The Road Beneath Me

Just yesterday I sat here, staring at the same “new blog” page, trying to get the creative juices flowing, trying to find something to write about other than meaningless babble.  I got to wondering what other blogs I could read for inspiration, possibly, what friends of mine maintained blogs as well.

Thank you to Amanda for the inspiration on this topic, as her blog “Caution, Sharp Turns Ahead!” gave me the necessary kick start to get this blog going.  In her blog, she writes about dealing with what life deals you.  It offers a look back, as well as a look ahead at what life holds in store for her, as well as her perspective on how to attack it.

With that in mind, it really got me thinking about the same.  The horizon ahead of me, as well as the road behind me.  The road ahead has always been easy for me, in the respect that I have always been up for an adventure, up for change, whatever it is, bring it on, I will conquer it. The road behind me offers other topics, but for me has often lent itself to a comparison with a “Choose Your Own Adventure” book.

But those 2 times, the past and the future, represent things that are out of my control.  What about not worrying about then, what about thinking about now? What about that patch of road beneath my feet.

With the daily rat race that most of us find ourselves in, in that eternal pursuit of happiness by way of more money, I have discovered that often the first thing I lose sight of is enjoying what I am doing at that time.  Too many times I find myself consumed by thinking about the future, how I need to plan for it, how I need to prepare for it, or thinking about the past, and what could have been, what might have changed.  The entire time all of this is going on, I am missing out on the most important part of my life, the part I am living in. The now.

I have come across other blogs that hit on this same point, basically the decision to stop living in the past, or preparing for the future and start living in the now. Now, to each person, that means something completely different.  For me, that is relaxing and slowing down to enjoy the view.  Grabbing a cup of coffee and sitting on the patio, enjoying the coffee, not pounding it as I sit in traffic to work.  That is wearing my cologne to go to the store, not only for a special occasion, or using the good dishes, because it is Tuesday, not because we have company over.

Time to start living for today, because tomorrow is never guaranteed.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. gilliamzoo / Dec 11 2010 9:08 pm

    It’s amazing how easy it is for us to forget that- that we need to pay attention now. To life, experiences, friends, family. The tastes, smells, sounds, feelings. I don’t know about you, but it seems like each year goes by faster than the next. Thanks for the reminder to stop and smell the roses before they’re gone.

    • Justin Hamlin / Dec 16 2010 8:18 pm

      I think that is one of the things that contributed the most to this blog, when I sit back and talk to friends, and when the conversation turns inevitably to the “holy crap, its already DECEMBER, can you believe it?” moments, there are a lot of things that I look back on the year that I accomplished, but also, there are things I did not.

      I want to spend more time in the present, and relish the things I do accomplish, and also throw caution to the wind with things that I want to do.

  2. Bryan / Dec 17 2010 11:39 am

    That’s exactly the mind set that I have a hard time shaking myself. It doesn’t get any easier when you have kids, especially when it seems like they misbehave all day.

    Time definitely goes faster too. The rush of the workday doesn’t help with that either as it takes so much out of you that you can’t spend your personal time living life. You’re just too exhausted.

    If people could survive comfortably without having to devote so much time to their employers just to afford to support themselves, people would be able to get so much more out of their time on earth and die more satisfied and fulfilled when their time comes.

Leave a Reply

